Virtualbox Showcase on Dell XPS 17

Now that my Dell Machine has a lot of RAM (8 GB) and hard disk space, it is quite easy to run 4 virtual machines at the same time, each one utilizing 1 GB of RAM, 2 cores and/or threads, 3D acceleration with 128 MB of video RAM. Windows XP also has 2D acceleration on. Arch Linux also has guest additions installed with GNOME 3 performing almost perfectly. By saying almost, I mean, it has awkward full screen behaviour. It might be a bug in GNOME’s virtual box support.

All of these and still having almost 2 GB free. And not only that, I am also running Vuze torrent client (a.k.a. Azureus), Skype, Opera, Clementine and various backround programs.

In the screenshot you can see four VirtualBox machines, Arch Linux, Backtrack 5 R1, Backbox 2.01, Windows XP Performance Edition

imagebam.com

Look at the top of my current desktop, the Core Temp gadget:

imagebam.com

Bellow a screenshot of the Windows Task Manager, Processes tab:

imagebam.com

What is your success with VirtualBox, or VMware?

4 thoughts on “Virtualbox Showcase on Dell XPS 17

  1. I usually work under the original Win 7 64 bit with vmware workstation 8: Windows XP, Windows 7, also tried out Win 8 consumer preview.. I have 16 gigs of RAM.. :) It’s cheap now..

  2. You should better use Virtualbox, that is my suggestion. For the moment I think 8 GB is enough, I don’t have a server of some sort, this is just my everyday laptop you know :P

    I also suggest using Linux as your primary desktop and since you are a programmer, Linux is heaven.

    I will buy additional RAM when I have some money to spent, as you may know things in Greece are difficult with the economic depression.

Your opinion?

